Bisexuality and Swinging

As I have stated before, part of the reason we are getting into swinging is because I want to explore my bi-curiosity.  The really interesting thing I have discovered is the number of women that post as being bi-curious, bi-comfortable, or bisexual.  In fact it is rare to find a profile where the woman lists as straight.  It seems to be expected in the lifestyle that a woman be bisexual to some extent. On the flip side, men are expected to be straight.  In fact there are many couples that will not play with another if that man identifies as bi-curious, bi-comfortable, or bisexual.  I would image that there is a skew somewhere.  I know that many men do not list their true orientation out of fear. I also believe many women post as some form of bi for similar reasons.

A while ago, while listening to a Life on the Swingset Podcast, I heard about something called the Kinsey Scale.  The Kinsey scale is a rating tool that determines where you lie on the gradient from Homosexual to Heterosexual. It is determined with a series of questions about past, present, and future sexual history/desires. A score of 0 means you are exclusively heterosexual and a score of 6 means you are exclusively homosexual.  From what I’ve read, this is not an absolute meaning that your number can change over your lifetime. Klein modified Kinsey’s scale into more of a grid.  I was able to find a good questionnaire for Klein’s grid which also gives you HTML code that you can copy to share your results. So without further ado…

Klein Sexual Orientation Grid

I scored an average of 1.38

0 1 2 3 4 5 6
Heterosexual Bisexual Homosexual

Meaning

This result can also be related to the Kinsey Scale:

0 = exclusively heterosexual
1 = predominantly heterosexual, incidentally homosexual
2 = predominantly heterosexual, but more than incidentally homosexual
3 = equally heterosexual and homosexual
4 = predominantly homosexual, but more than incidentally heterosexual
5 = predominantly homosexual, incidentally heterosexual
6 = exclusively homosexual

Summary

The idea of this exercise is to understand exactly how dynamic a person’s sexual orientation can be, as well as how fluid it can be over a person’s lifespan. While a person’s number of actual homo/heterosexual encounters may be easy to categorize, their actual orientation may be completely different. Simple labels like “homosexual”, “heterosexual”, and “bisexual” need not be the only three options available to us.

Take the quiz on Young Southampton
After I have had a few experiences with a female, I will retake and re post my results to see if it changes.

As one last note I want to say that I think society is pretty crazy.  It is acceptable, even encouraged, for women to be bi.  Those same people will freak though if a guy identifies as bi. And no, Mr. Sub is not bi in any way he asserts, but we are bi-friendly as long as rules are followed.

 

About suburbanitemom

I'm a 30ish suburbanite mom struggling with her sexuality and thinking about non-monogomy with my husband.
This entry was posted in My Life, Relationships, Swinging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bisexuality and Swinging

  1. walk says:

    Roll and I have discussed this very issue a lot. I myself identify as a straight male also, however male bisexuality to us seems as normal as anything else. We both believe that whatever two or more consenting adults want to experience is completely up to them, who are we to judge and decide what is right. We are glad to see you are back to blogging we are now following you and look forward to reading more in the future.

    Walk

  2. Pingback: Bisexuality and Swinging | Beyond My Expectations | Blog Bisexual – All Bisexual Blogs, Articles, Discussions & Posts

Leave a Reply

